Please note: you are view an unstyled version of Either you have CSS (cascading style sheets) switched off or you browser is not capable of viewing CSS.

News at Whitstable Yacht Club

Club News - November

Reminder - Craft Fair and Quiz Night this Saturday!

There’s lots going on at WYC in the next few weeks. Come and join us for:
WYC Craft Fair 
Date: Sat 16/11/2019
Craft Fair at WYC from 11am to 4pm. If you’d like a stall, please contact Andrea Oliver. 
Quiz Supper 
Date: Sat 16/11/2019
Homemade Lasagne and Garlic Bread served from 6.30pm, only £5, followed by Phil&Ian’s Laid Back Quiz at 8pm. 
Keith’s Fish & Chip Supper 
Date: Fri 22/11/2019
Fantastic fresh fish and chips, served from 6pm, only £7.
Thanksgiving Supper 
Date: Fri 22/11/2019
Join us for Thanksgiving Supper on Friday 29th November to celebrate with our American members! Traditional supper with all the trimmings, only £16. Book with the bar. 
Club Christmas Lunch 
Date: Sun 08/12/2019
Christmas lunch - turkey with all the trimmings! Only £20. Book with the bar. 
Whitstable Maritime Christmas Carols 
Date: Sun 08/12/2019
Carols and other seasonal favourites courtesy of the Herne Bay Community Singers. Thursday 12th December 2019, 7-9 PM. £5 per adult, pay at the door. Accompanied children free. 
Also, don’t forget the regular Mexican Train Dominoes on Tuesday evenings from 7pm, the WYC Pool Team plays on Wednesday nights, and the WYC Craft Evenings on the first Wednesday of the month.
If you have any suggestions for future events, please talk to Tizzie!

Men’s changing rooms

Apologies for the ongoing work in the men’s changing rooms. This was caused by the necessity to have remedial works carried out in the store room off the changing rooms. They should be back to normal by the end of November. The changing rooms are usable while the work is carried out, but space will be slightly reduced.

Race Recorders needed for the 2020 season - No experience necessary!

Fed up with sitting on the beach waiting for sailing to finish? Want to get involved, but don’t wish to sail? Interested in meeting more people in the club?
We need you, join the team, become a Race Recorder!
No experience necessary! Full Training provided, plus an ongoing support system. Free Social membership available for Recorders.
Call or email the Club Office for more information, and contact details of current Recorder team for a chat.

Prize Giving 2019 - Congratulations Prize Winners!

Congratulations to all of the prize winners who collected their trophies on Saturday night, and thank you to everyone who came along to support them, and who gave up their time to help set up for the evening!
In particular, congratulations to this year’s winners of the special awards for significant accomplishments in 2019:
The Jo Edmondson Cup for the Most Deserving Lady went to Tizzie Lambert;
The Len Sharp Trophy for Good Sportsmanship went to Andrew Guerin (Laser);
The Gaye Woolven Trophy for the Largest Cat Turnout for the year went to Robert Govier & David Figgis (F18/Tornado);
The Hamlin Trophy for Perseverance went to Todd Mei (Windsurfer);
The Richard Hollis trophy for the Highest Turnout went to Kevin Hall (Laser);
The Whitstable Salt Bowl for the Highest Merlin turnout went to John Cooper (Merlin Rocket);
The Merlin Helmsman Trophy for the Merlin Helmsman of the Year went to Huw Reynolds (Merlin Rocket);
The John Griffiths Trophy for the Best Merlin Crew went to Pheobe Paine (Merlin Rocket);
The Oades Cadet Trophy for the Best All Round Cadet went to Harry Wilson;
The Tony & Liz Love Trophy for Cadet Participation in club racing went to Tom Oliver (Laser);
The General Purpose Dinghy Trophy for the General Purpose Dinghy Trophy went to Richard Maltby (Wanderer);
The Allan Barnes Trophy for the Allan Barnes “Contribution to Sailing” Award went to John Berrington; and
The John Day Trophy for the John Day “Laser Sailor of the Year” Award went to Tony Clements.
For the full list of winners, download them here: 2019_prizegivingV3.pdf
Don’t forget, there’s still the Winter Series to race, every Sunday until 15th December, and the Winter Series Prize Giving on 15th December after racing.