Please note: you are view an unstyled version of Either you have CSS (cascading style sheets) switched off or you browser is not capable of viewing CSS.

News at Whitstable Yacht Club

Club News

2020 Race and Series winners

Despite a very different year of sailing compared to what we expected at the beginning of the year, we’ve done everything we can to maximise the amount of safe and secure sailing, racing and training available to our members. We sailed 20 races (weather allowing we would have raced more!), and the club facilities and Support Boats were available for Supported Sailing and Free Sailing sessions whenever possible. Thank you to all the volunteers who made this happen.
Unfortunately there won’t be a Prize Giving this year, but congratulations need to to the series and race winners. Trophies will be available to collect from the club when it’s safe to do so. If you’re a winner who’d like to collect their trophy, please contact Sally, our Sailing and Membership Secretary, who’ll arrange the collection.
Click through to see the full list of prize winners.

SUMMER SUNDAYS (19th July to 20th September)
1st Overall Phil Emery Cheyenne Bowl
2nd Overall Kevin Dutch/David Oakley (Nacra 20 Carbon) Stuart France Trophy
3rd Overall Stephen Nation/Julie Puckett (Tasar) Tasar Trophy
1st Laser Charles Campion Kingsborough Dinghy Cup
DAWES CUP (2nd August)
Dawes Trophy Race 1st Niall Martin (Laser) Dawes Trophy
2nd Kevin Hall (Laser)
3rd Phil Emery & Crew (Merlin)
WHITSTABLE WEEK (3rd to 7th August)
1st Overall Stephen Nation & Julie Puckett (Tasar) Oyster Trophy
Laser Standard rig Niall Martin Kingsborough Inter Club Cup
Laser Radial Max Hunt Glass Radial Trophy
General Classification Richard Maltby/Theresa Page (Wanderer) Glass (Astins) Trophy
Asymmetric Angelyna Gheur/Harry Wilson (RS500) 2 glasses ordered
Merlin John Cooper/Hilary Bradshaw Len Emery Trophy
Tasar Stephen Nation/Julie Puckett Tasar Bethwaite Trophy (Framed picture of Frank Bethwaite)
General Handicap Huw Reynolds (Solo) Medway Bowl
Slow dinghies Richard Maltby/Theresa Page (Wanderer) Babbington Hill Challenge Cup
Big Cats Kevin Dutch/David Oakley (Nacra 20 Carbon) Sheppey Cup
Small Cats Jason Wild/Roz Barley/Ian Wild (Dart 18) Westminster Bank Trophy
Under 18s Harry Newton (Laser Radial) Topper Junior Shield (under 18s)
CLUB CHAMPS (29th to 31st August)
Overall Club Champion Stephen & Mei Baker (Tasar) Dawes Trophy
First Lady Helm Veronica Moore (Tasar) Ladies Cup
First Cadet Tom Oliver (Laser) Tom Bourne Trophy
First Big Cat Kevin Dutch/David Oakley (Nacra 20 Carbon) WYC Racing Shield
First Small Cat Richard Jones & Crew (Dart 18) Sales Trophy
Asymmetric Angelyna Ghuer/Harry Wilson (RS500) Castle Cup
First Merlin Rocket John Cooper & Crew Johnson Cup
First Tasar Stephen Nation & Julie Puckett Tasar Trophy
General Handicap Prize Peter Heyes (Streaker) “At Your Service” Trophy
First Laser Standard Rig Nigel Brown “Middle Wall” Glass Trophy
First Laser Radial Rig Sally Newcombe “Middle wall” Glass Trophy
AUTUMN SERIES (27th September to 25th October)
1st overall (All-In) Stephen Nation & Julie Puckett (Tasar) Frozen Enterprise Trophy (normally for 1st Tasar)
1st Laser Charles Campion Ted Thompson Trophy
WINTER SERIES (6th to 13th December)
1ST All-in Robert Govier/David Figgis (Tornado) Le Touquet Trophy
1st Laser Steve Gray Allan Barnes Trophy